Feeling Stuck

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Funyuns223

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
My whole life I have wanted to become a doctor. It's been my lifelong goal, my family knows it's what I want to become, and I've never even considered anything different. The thing is now I kind of am.

I took a gap year between high school and college (didn't do anything meaningful there, just wanted a break and a chance to spend quality time with family and friends before moving away), decided to go to CC first (graduated in 2 years but decided to take another gap year and did some volunteering, though not really a huge amount), and now I'm currently in my 3rd year at university. Hopefully, I have one more year to go. So, that's like 7 years in total if all goes well from this point on. I will be 27 when I graduate!! My gpa is around a 3.0, I've made average grades (I failed one class but retook it and got a C, not science related. My grades are basically B's and C's), haven't done many extra curricular activities other than some clubs and a few hours of volunteering here and there. I know med school at this point is a long shot and would depend on MCAT and how I do from this point on. I still haven't shadowed, still no research, nothing special about me. It's disappointing. I love medicine and can actually hold a long conversation about anything medically related, it's just math kills me and I can't get passed the B-C average on anything chem.