Fellowship advice for the current job market

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doctor313

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just curious what everyone's thoughts are on fellowship planning for the current job market.

I am an AP/CP resident from a mid-tier residency program with a GI path fellowship lined up at a larger, "upper mid-tier" institution. I'm OK with doing academics and/or private practice in the future.

Do you think I should plan on doing a 2nd fellowship after GI path (like surg path?) in order to be more competitive in the job market (such as for jobs that may require general sign-out)? I'm interested in living in only 2-3 major cities in the USA long-term, but don't really mind taking my first job anywhere to get a few years under my belt before settling down.

Members don't see this ad.

Unless you're highly interested in additional specialization, just apply for a job. If you really are flexible (at least initially), that sign-out experience would be more worthwhile than carrying slides back and forth between your attending's office and wherever they make you sit.

Reactions: 4 users
One fellowship is enough, especially if you are flexible with your first job. There is no guarantee that two fellowships will make you more competitive than one.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I would take a job if you find a good one where you want to live. Only do a second fellowship if you can’t land the job.

I agree with what has been advised, but I guess the question I'm really trying to ask is should I go through the process of applying for and securing a second fellowship now as a backup in case I don't find a job? Or is that not really going to be necessary given anecdotal improvements in the job market?