Finding a job?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eklope2000

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
The job market seems so tight in large desirable cities for radiation oncology. Beyond the salaries being lower, I'm concerned I'm going to be geographically limited in finding a job at graduation, and definitely not be able to move around or have much flexibility in relocating should I want a change periodically.

Does anyone have suggestions for what to do earlier on in your residency to prepare for a private practice job in a tight geographic market?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I am by no means an expert but I believe this question was asked a while back and the consensus was "land a residency at MD Anderson or BWH."

Meaning, name of the residency matters and all things being equal the competitive private practice in the large city will take the guy from Harvard over the guy from timbucktwo residency. (Obviously there are no bad residencies, but you get my point.) In the internet age patients look at their doctors and where they were trained and the website of a practice will be buoyed if their newest recruit has the word Harvard in their bio.

Also, making connections at national conferences with docs in the city you are thinking about would probably be quite helpful.

Those with more knowledge can feel free to correct!

BE AGGRESSIVE!

No matter how good you think you are, the ideal private job will not arrive on a silver platter. From day one of your residency aggressively collect information about private groups in your area of interest. Obviously it helps if you are doing residency where you want to eventually work. If not, the ARRO directory is your friend. Get to know residents in your area of interest and they can help you.

If you can, get involved in ARRO as it will help you make connections up the wazoo.