First semester of Biology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cozell

Busy with College
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok so i just started my first semester of Biology on monday. I have been reading the textbook and I noticed that most of the information is not directly asked in a question like I would find at the end of the chapter. Its like I study but then get asked a question that is hardly related to the material I studied.

1. Does anyone else feel this way.

2. Is there something im doing wrong.

It is still extremely early in the semester but i feel that this trend will not go away and maybe im not reading deep enough into the text or something unless this is what it is that makes biology a tough course the fact that you wont be asked what you studied.

3. And does anyone have any tips for effective studying of biology.

Thanks guys and girls.

Members don't see this ad.

Yes, read often and read to comprehend. I find that reading alone has helped me to succeed in Biology. That and memorization..

With Bio what I did was read by myself, and when it was time for the exam I had study groups. For me the best way to learn the material was reciting it to my peers days before the exam. Hope that helps :)

Members don't see this ad :)
Do you have lecture notes at your school?

In both genetics and gen bio 1 and 2, i've found that studying only the lecture notes and not touching the book at all will get me like B+/A- range scores on tests. If you want the A, you'll need to use the book thoroughly, but who needs an "A" anyways?

This is just at my school, maybe you don't have lecture notes, maybe your profs use the tests provided by the publishing company, I don't know! Works for me though.