For my own good somebody tell me I'm crazy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

engineeredout

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm thinking about studying up for the mcat this summer and taking it either at the end of the summer, or at some point relatively soon after.

I'm currently finishing up my junior year undergrad. I'm a double engineering and mathematics major. For me, medical school was always something in the way back of my mind. I wasn't going to commit to it because I didn't want a straight science major that would leave me nowhere if I didn't get in, and through the stupidity of being a freshman my GPA wasn't too great.

This school year has been absolute hell. I've gone on credit overload both semester and taken an internship. I have absolutely no life. Whats the result of all of this?

My GPA is higher than ever, up around 3.4 something now. My GPA fall semester was 3.8, and I don't have all my final grades yet but this one should be just as high.

Which brings me to here. I recently got the stupid idea into my head "Hey, why don't I study the MCAT this summer"? I don't know about anything regarding my future anymore, but I feel like if I don't at least try its going to be something I regret. For my majors I've taken all the premed classes except for biology, which I was going to take next year anyway just to get some bio experience.