Fourth year med student and completely lost

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nightowl

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hoping for some advice here.

I am a fourth year med student. I have absolutely no clue, NOT A CLUE, what to do specialty wise. I'm in a unique predicament bc husband is already matched in a five year surgery program somewhere with not many other programs. We bought a house there, not much likelihood of him transferring. I wanted that location bc it's close to family so we would have help... thinking a few years from now we might try for a baby. Now I'm just confused and overwhelmed with what to do.

I enjoyed ob-gyn and surgery, but neither seemed to be suited for my personality and the hours really wore on me after a while. I didn't really mesh with the people on ob, to the point that I felt pretty miserable a good bit of the time. But I enjoyed the surgeries and the deliveries. That said, I didn't feel SOLD on it, the material wasn't that interesting to me, and I just don't necessarily feel like it would be a good decision to choose it. I really don't want the hours of the typical ob/gyn when I get out. I know people say it can be what you want to make it, but there are so many people miserable in the field that it makes me question that. I'm just not sold on it. but I enjoy women as patients. I don't know.