From Canada to Aussieland

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Slam Master J

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everybody,

I'm relatively new to exploring the idea of studying medicine in Australia. I'm actually very excited to go study abroad, and I've learned alot about the Irish programs, but definitely want to think hard about Australia as well.

The meat of my question is:

Which Unis have programmes that accept graduates into a medical program, and how do Canadians apply? Is there an Australian equivalent of the Atlantic Bridge Program?

Any information would be awesome, and I'm excited to hear opinions from other North Americans on a similar path.

Cheers!

Members don't see this ad.

As you may know, most Australian schools are similiar to the Irish/English system. However, the 4-year graduate program is becoming more prominent in Australia. The three main schools providing the graduate course are Flinders University (where I went), University of Queensland, and Sydney. Competition for international spots can be quite competitive, so you need a good GPA and good MCAT or GAMSAT scores. Now you can apply directly to your school of choice or through ACER (national application service). Check out the individual school websites as a good place to start.

Thanks FlindersGrad,

That's some good information. Are you originally from Canada? If so, how did you find the application process?

I come from an engineering background, but I've been stepping up my medical-field related work by doing research in radiation oncology. My last three years of undergrad are 83, 81, and 89% respectively (I really don't know how the Aussie schools convert their grades), and I wrote a 32R MCAT. Any thoughts on where I stand?

Also, do Flinders, UQ and Sydney tend to focus on the well-balanced application (lots of extra-curriculars/volunteer stuff etc.), or more so just on the numbers?