From PhD to MD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bengisu

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi to all,

I am an international student in Europe. I have a B.S in Molecular Biology and Genetics and PhD in Cellular Biochemistry. I would like to apply for M.D in United States. I am considering 3 yera MD programs. Once I heard that there is a special Md program in Miami, Florida where PhDs can get MD in 2 years. Are thre such programs around? With this CV I have, do I have to take MCAT exams?

I would appreciate any kind of suggestion and information.

Thank you very much.

Bengisu

Members don't see this ad.

I have a PhD and have not heard about any accelerated MD programs in the US for those who hold advanced degrees in biomedical science. Every school I applied to required me to take the MCAT.

Bengisu said:
Hi to all,

I am an international student in Europe. I have a B.S in Molecular Biology and Genetics and PhD in Cellular Biochemistry. I would like to apply for M.D in United States. I am considering 3 yera MD programs. Once I heard that there is a special Md program in Miami, Florida where PhDs can get MD in 2 years. Are thre such programs around? With this CV I have, do I have to take MCAT exams?

I would appreciate any kind of suggestion and information.

Thank you very much.

Bengisu
Miami used to have a special PhD-to-MD program that lasted 2 years. The graduates were highly successful and practiced in all areas of medicine (see articles in the New England Journal of Medicine). This program was discontinued at the request of the LCME (they accredit North American Medical schools). Some say it was all political.