Future Residents: Avoid Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson RWJ Anesthesia Program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

propofolx

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Long time member using throw away account for privacy.

Avoid RWJ, program is currently on probation, program has changed four PDs in the last 5 years. A lot of turmoil in the department, with limited didactics and very poor resident satisfaction.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 3 users
RWJ is going to be taken over by the NJMS residency program. It will become one big program in the near future. For the record I did not do residency at RWJ :)

Reactions: 1 user
I'm a current resident at RWJ. Yes, the program is on probation and there have been some changes in PDs over the past couple of years (for the better). However, the turmoil is on the attending side of things: primarily due to manpower. Several attendings (mostly older ones who have been around for decades) have left and has created some stress on the remaining attendings who have to work harder, sometimes harder than residents. Honestly, many of the ones who left are the ones who teach the least, so some of us are glad they left. The dept is working to hire people as fast as possible to mitigate the situation. Many of the new hires who have recently come on are VERY involved in educational activities.