Quantcast

Gap year dilemma: to quit or not to quit

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JSall2011

Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
I'm at a bit of a cross roads.
I took two years off (graduated may 2015) to retake my MCAT and apply to med school. My retake went well (516, 95th percentile) and the rest of my application is solid (3.9 GPA with a BS in bio, 3 other research opportunities, a publication from another lab in a nephrology journal, tons of volunteering and leadership through a cancer related org, shadowing, etc)

I'm currently working a lab tech position at my top pick for medical school. I've been working here since June of 2015 (almost a year now). I am in a 3 person lab and I'm not enjoying it at all. My boss is harsh and a micromanager to put it simply. I don't feel that I'm gaining anything from working here other than perseverance and promised authorship on two papers (one of which we are submitting in June).

I recently took on some tutoring clients and am overloaded with potential inquires. In addition, tutoring pays 2-3 times what I'm making now.

My family is going through some pretty serious events. My uncle just lost his foot to diabetes last week. In addition my mom lost her job a little over a month ago and my dad lost his job yesterday (parents are divorced).

I really would rather quit my job and take on tutoring and substitute teaching work while I prepare to apply for med school this cycle. The money is better and the hours would be much more flexible. I also think I'd be a lot happier. My biggest concern is that this will hurt my application or future residency competitiveness

What are the potential downsides of making a change? Is there anything I'm overlooking? Would you recommend staying or going to a better financial situation?

Thanks in advance!

Mr Roboto

5+ Year Member
Reaction score