Going to ASA? Use priceline.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CanGas

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
For those of you who are interested.

I know by booking your hotel you support the ASA - BUT - ASA price for JW Marriott, Grande Lakes = $249/nt. After bidding up in $2 increments (hey I'm still a resident) I got it on priceline for $152 for Friday 17th - Wed 25th.

CanGas

Members don't see this ad.

Priceline SUCKS! I recently used them to book an interview trip, and trust me when I tell you that they completely f*cked the whole thing up.

The lady at the car rental place told me - and I quote her exact words - "Wow, I can't believe they gave you this price. That's about $20 more than we would've charged you had you booked directly with us."

Not to mention the fact that they didn't get the payment voucher transferred right, the way they booked the car charged me for gasoline (which took 20 minutes to get off the bill), they tried to charge me for an extra day through their computer (which took another 20 minutes to get off the bill), and still at the end of it billed me an extra $30, even though it should've been zero (or, at best, under $3 the way the taxes worked out).

I tried to call them to straighten it out, and I got put on hold for over an hour before the person on the phone told me that they will have to submit it to their accounts recovery system, and I will have to call a separate number in a week to get the credit voucher.

Screw it. Not worth the waste of my time. I'm willing to suck down the $30. Still, I learned the most important lesson: I will never use Priceline again. If that's the way they're going to treat a soon-to-be high-roller, they don't need my business.

-copro

Priceline SUCKS! I recently used them to book an interview trip, and trust me when I tell you that they completely f*cked the whole thing up.