Going to US from UK

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mossmoon

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am sure this is on here a lot, but I can't find it, so please let me know if you have an answer or a link to a previous answer. Thank you!

I am studying medicine in the UK but I have dual-citizenship to the USA. I really, really want to move back to the USA as soon as I possibly can. I know I will have to study a lot of other subjects in order to pass the USMLE, but apart from that, I don't know much.

I am almost positive I want to be a neonatologist, so lets assume that is definitely what I will do. When should I take each step of the USMLE? Also, is it better to go to the US straight out of med school, or should I do F1 and F2 or more here? I am kind of afraid to ask a mentor as they don't know this is my plan! :scared:

Members don't see this ad.

Well, with US citizenship you wouldn't need a visa, that helps a bit with timing. You should probably go back right after you graduate... Wait for further advice.

Just curious, why is it that you "really, really want to move back to the USA as soon as [you] possibly can"? Any non-personal reasons?

Honestly? I have been here for eight years. I first moved to London and then up to Edinburgh. I do like it here, but I just feel like it's time to go back. There are a lot of things that drive me crazy about living in Edinburgh, and I miss my family. It's very strange to move to a different country. It's complicated. I feel conflicted, like I have two homes and wish I could push them together so I could drive to see my family and then go home to my pretty city. Also, I don't think I have very much in common at all with the Scottish!

Members don't see this ad :)
i'm also from the US, studying in the UK, in a 6 year program; and i plan to go back to the US for specialization too.