Got a C, freshman year intro Bio: What now?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted760180

So I'm a first semester freshman right now, and I just received a C on my first intro Bio exam. This was my first exam of my entire college career, so I'm really hoping it gets better from here on out. I'm honestly looking at ending the semester with a 3.3.3.4. I even dropped one of my classes today in order to focus more on my schedule (I went from 17 credits which I realized was too much too late it seems, down to 14).

Does anyone have any experiences to share regarding freshman year and the whole college transition? Does it get better, and how did you learn to study in college? What was your GPA?

I just find biology right now to be extremely, extremely different than AP. We go so far in-depth that I just leave class completely confused and unaware of what we talked about. I know its only going to get harder from here, so how do you guys study for biology in general? Powerpoint slides aren't really enough, and I am starting to tape record lectures now.

Sorry if I come off as a stressed out, overworked overachiever but I wholly realize that I need a 3.7 or up for any viable MD school in the U.S.. I'm just really down in the dumps right now, and I feel like an absolute failure. I just don't want this trend to continue. What do I do?

Will a bad freshman year GPA screw me over? Help?

Members don't see this ad.

The most important thing to do is change up your study plan- and stick to it consistently. If you study each day for the rest of the semester, you can stay on top on your course and likely still do well.