Got a C+ in Calculus I... Am I screwed?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Am I still competitive at top medical schools?

• Yes

• No

Results are only viewable after voting.

Cardinalcuevas

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I just finished my first semester at WashU and I got essentially 3 A's in Gen Chem Lab, Philosophy, and a 3 Credit Seminar Class, a B+ in General Chemistry, and a C+ in Calculus I. It's not the fact that I didn't study for my classes or have my motivation, I studied for 5 days straight for Calculus I Final Exam and did not do nearly as well as thought. I know it's my first semester but I am concerned for my future because of this one class that was badly taught and due to a number of external factors, that was the grade I received. I realize that this is very forward thinking and I know I can do better next semester now that I have the experience, however, I feel as if this is like adding a brick in front of me and with time, that brick becomes a wall. Can I save my GPA? Can I still be competitive at top medical schools? Am I screwed? These are all questions I do not have the answers to at this time, but would HIGHLY appreciate any and all advice on this matter or personal success stories to cheer me up in this time of dire need. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I know it's my first semester but I am concerned for my future because of this one class that was badly taught and due to a number of external factors, that was the grade I received.
In the grand scheme of things, one class will not make much of a difference in your GPA, especially if you are a freshman. This attitude, on the other hand, will. You need to take ownership of the grade that you earned and identify what you need to improve.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Can you save your GPA? To an extent.
Will you still be competitive at top medical schools? No