GPA calculation for applications

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PTgal11

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi- I'm new to this thread and have a question about GPA calculations. I did not do too well in undergrad-- my cum gpa was 3.18. But, I went on to grad school and got a 3.8 for the Master's gpa. Do PT applications take into account the GPA from my master's degree? (Neither degree is in a science field). I will also have a third transcript from my pre-req classes. I'm just wondering if I have a chance of getting in somewhere since my undergraduate GPA is so terrible. Also, I am a non-trad student so I'm not sure how that plays into it as well.

Members don't see this ad.

You are in a very similar situation as myself, check my recent post in the GRE/GPA sticky thread at the top of the forum. I graduated with a 2.7 in 2009 via a BS in business management. I went on to complete a MBA w/ finance emphasis @ a 3.7 and worked in money markets for a bit. I went back to school in 2012 to complete science prepress in preparation for PT school and have a 3.93 post-bach (54 credits). I'll actually end up with a second bachelors degree in Biology this upcoming May. You'll be fine. Your original undergrad degree was even higher than mine and my overall cumulative is a 3.17 with a 3.8 prereq GPA, 3.93 post bach, 3.69 graduate. I made sure to do as well as I could on the GRE in order to offset my low cumulative. Ended up with a 320 and a 4.5. I'd recommend you do the same. Good luck!

I am also a non-trad. DPT coasral, I'm wondering how old you'll be when you finish and if you know where you are going yet?

Members don't see this ad :)