gpa/DAT not in great shape..need some direction!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

skylark

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I took the DAT today...i need help deciding options!

I am a CA resident, and go to a UC school. I need help deciding where I should apply other than some schools already on my list. or maybe where to apply for postbacc

Buh Buh BREAK it DOWNNNNN..

sGPA: 3.12
cGPA: 3.3 or higher..highest possibly 3.4 after adding in nonscience CC classes i took (general psyc, calc, asian american studies, poli sci, econ, etc). i did this my senior yr in hs and got As in all.

DAT
PA: 19
QR; 17
RC: 21 (yay? does this even matter much?)
BIO: 17 (i know this sucks...im quite disappointed/surprised at how i did)
GC: 19
OC: 20

TS: 18/AA:19 (how is this realistically...NOT compared to SDN standards..is it avg/below avg?)

ECs: I have unique ones for sure. athlete in a club sport that is highly competitive and wins medals. started a unique club and is very professionally run (lots of my profs are very impressed with this EC), volunteer (100hr) + dental volunteer/shadowing (30hr+ will continue over summer), another leadership position at a very popular pre-health club. and some other not as important stuff

RECs: should be pretty good. got them from dentist, undergrad business prof, bio lab prof, biochem prof. Got As in all of these.

Application: will start soon but need to figure out where to apply. my list now is UOP, Western, USC, ASDOH, UNLV, Nova, Case, BU, NYU. I would like to look at Maryland, UCLA + UCSF (cus im in CA anyway), Tufts, Michigan. any other suggestions?

Also, where do people apply for pre-dental postbacs that tend to do well? I couldnt find these. just in case i need to take this route. THANKS!!!!

Members don't see this ad.

I took the DAT today...i need help deciding options!