Grossing Load

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ElementMD

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDN Path,
I am a pathology resident in an NYC program. We are grossing a lot.
I am sure among residencies there is a spectrum from an inordinate amount to almost none ( I know of one NY program in particular that barely grosses). I suspect we are somewhere near the high end.
What is a reasonable amount of grossing per day/week?
Does ACGME have any position on this?
I know there is a push with ACGME toward more oversight and standardization of path residencies.
On surg path we gross about 8 days a month and 20-30 specimens each shift. About half or more of these are large specimens (colon, mastectomy, nephrectomy, orchi, head and neck).
TYIA

Members don't see this ad.

Hello SDN Path,
I am sure among residencies there is a spectrum from an inordinate amount to almost none ( I know of one NY program in particular that barely grosses). I suspect we are somewhere near the high end.
I know there is a push with ACGME toward more oversight and standardization of path residencies.
On surg path we gross about 8 days a month and 20-30 specimens each shift. About half or more of these are large specimens (colon, mastectomy, nephrectomy, orchi, head and neck).
TYIA

That’s a lot of complex specimens for each day but you are only grossing 8 days per month.

Welcome to Pathology where you will be an indentured grossing slave until you finish residency or don’t gross at all and become incompetent at grossing when you need to in your job.

8 days a month isn’t bad but having to gross that many large specimens a day is a form of hard labor. How long are you in the hospital on these days? I’m guessing 12-16 hours? There are ACGME rules regarding work hours. I believe it is a requirement you are a certain number of hours away from work after one workday.