GRU vs. Maryland

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kye0915

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! This is my first time posting a thread and any comments/thoughts would be greatly appreciated!!!!

I've finally narrowed down my potential future dental school to two:
  1. Georgia Regents University
    1. In-state (estimated TOTAL cost of 4 years: $213,558)
    2. Class size: ~90
    3. Board after D2 (summer before D3)
    4. Good school overall. But I honestly didn't like the location...
  2. University of Maryland at Baltimore
    1. Out-of-state. Students CAN receive In-state tuition after a year.
      • worst case: $394,592 (paying OOS 4 years)
      • ehh case: $335,062 (paying 2 years OOS and 2 years IS)
      • best case: $305,297 (paying 1 year OOS and 3 years IS)
    2. Class size: ~120
    3. Board after D1 (summer before D2)
    4. I LOVED LOVED LOVED the school. I asked many OOS D4's about receiving IS tuition and they all agreed that it's pretty easy and most OOS students receive it after 2 years if not 1 year. Also, unlike what I thought, the location wasn't too shady/unsafe either.

Not looking at the financial side, I want to go to Maryland... But the cost difference between GRU and Maryland ($100,000+) is not something easy to ignore... Is 300K of debt manageable?:(

Members don't see this ad.

100k is not a small amount of money at all... Are you crazy, GRU is insanely cheap.

Reactions: 1 users
Let's be real, it all comes down to whether the difference in location for 4 years is worth 100-200k for you. Debt management depends on the person. Some people never manage to pay it off and some do it within a few years.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
If you have any questions about Maryland ask away!

I agree, put that $100,000 toward your practice some day and go to GA. It's just not worth it.

Thanks everyone for your comments!!!!!