Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Having trouble deciding where to apply

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by woohoo, May 1, 2004.

1. woohoo

woohoo Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

Ok, I'm trying to get my act together for when the app goes online next month, but I'm having trouble deciding where to apply.

I'm a Michigan resident so I am definitely going to try U of M and UDM, other than that I'm kind of lost. I think my main problem is that my mom is having health problems and I want to be able to come home fairly quickly if I need to. Does anyone know of schools around here that accept a good number of out of staters? Also, considering my stats, how many schools should I apply to if I want a decent chance?

Some of my stats:
    BA Psychology
    Overall GPA: 3.5 Sci GPA: 3.2
    DAT: AA 18, TS 19, PAT 14 (will retake in June)
    EC activities:
    Volunteer in medical clinic, Volunteer as teacher's assistant @ place of worship, Worked as researcher in Psychology study, Work w/ environmental organization to teach kiddies, Shadowed Dentist

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. UBTom

UBTom Class '04 official geezer
    10+ Year Member

If you want to stay close to home:

Definitely apply to Case Western. It's a private school so there is no preference for Ohio residents, and it's pretty close to Detroit (few hours drive).

Indiana has a more liberal admissions policy towards out-of-staters than a lot of state schools according to the posts I've seen on this board, so you might want to consider it as well.

Marquette, if you don't mind going to the other side of Lake Michigan. :D

HTH!

4. woohoo

woohoo Senior Member
    7+ Year Member