Having trouble deciding where to apply

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

woohoo

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, I'm trying to get my act together for when the app goes online next month, but I'm having trouble deciding where to apply.

I'm a Michigan resident so I am definitely going to try U of M and UDM, other than that I'm kind of lost. I think my main problem is that my mom is having health problems and I want to be able to come home fairly quickly if I need to. Does anyone know of schools around here that accept a good number of out of staters? Also, considering my stats, how many schools should I apply to if I want a decent chance?

Some of my stats:
BA Psychology
Overall GPA: 3.5 Sci GPA: 3.2
DAT: AA 18, TS 19, PAT 14 (will retake in June)
EC activities:
Volunteer in medical clinic, Volunteer as teacher's assistant @ place of worship, Worked as researcher in Psychology study, Work w/ environmental organization to teach kiddies, Shadowed Dentist

Members don't see this ad.

If you want to stay close to home:

Definitely apply to Case Western. It's a private school so there is no preference for Ohio residents, and it's pretty close to Detroit (few hours drive).

Indiana has a more liberal admissions policy towards out-of-staters than a lot of state schools according to the posts I've seen on this board, so you might want to consider it as well.

Marquette, if you don't mind going to the other side of Lake Michigan. :D

HTH!

UBTom said:
If you want to stay close to home:

Definitely apply to Case Western. It's a private school so there is no preference for Ohio residents, and it's pretty close to Detroit (few hours drive).

Indiana has a more liberal admissions policy towards out-of-staters than a lot of state schools according to the posts I've seen on this board, so you might want to consider it as well.