Help/Advice for a Future NP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

emeraldsong1712

Doesn't Know What She's Doing In Life... Yet
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all! I'm looking for some advice and insight into the NP route. I have been very up in the air with DO/PA/NP and finally decided on NP based on a number of personal factors. I just don't want to give another 7+ years to schooling before earning a living, so NP it is with strong aspirations of getting a PhD or Doctorate in Nursing down the line (simply for my own personal reasons, I've always wanted to achieve a doctorate).

I'm a recent college graduate from Virginia Tech currently enrolled in a few health science courses to raise my GPA a bit.
Degrees: B.S. Biological Sciences and B.S. Criminology
cGPA: 3.38
sGPA: 3.20

I know my GPA isn't amazing, but I'm hoping taking some additional coursework and my experience in healthcare will help me. I'm looking for advice for some options. I've looked into a number of programs and from what I understand, I have 3 paths to become an NP:
1) Associates in Nursing at a Community College --> Finish BSN online/at a 4-year college or skin the BSN entirely --> MSN
2) Accelerated BSN at a 4-year college --> MSN
3) Accelerated MSN at a 4-year college

I plan on exploring all options for the following year and applying broadly to all paths, but want some advice. I'm not too familiar with licensure for NP, from what I understand its an additional license you apply for after gaining experience and holding at least a Master's in Nursing with specific coursework. If I'm wrong, please correct me! I'm having trouble finding valuable resources online and haven't shadowed an NP just yet! (Plans to do so, don't worry)