Help! I need advice and/or opinions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Colorado1989

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am getting ready to take the MCAT in 2 weeks and I want to know what would be an ideal/minimum score given my credidentials.

Graduated in 2011 from a great university with a major in Integrative Physiology with a 3.5 GPA and a sGPA of 3.3

I have gotten As is most of the pre-reqs including ochem, statistics and physics.

I was an undergraduate TA for general chem 1 and 2 as a sophomore in college.
I played club volleyball for my school and once I quit, my GPA for subsequent semesters was a 3.8.

I currently work full time as a medical assistant at an ear nose and throat office (going on 1 year). I used to work at a Dermatology office. I tutored college students in math. I am volunteering at a week long camp this summer for children with cancer. I was a subject for a research project that spanned about 1-2 years.
I have many hours of volunteering and shadowing at hospitals, PT clinics etc. LORs from 2 MDs, and both my chemistry professors in college.

I plan to apply to DO schools. On my practice MCATs, I keep getting 23, but I know I am capable of doing better.

I want to know what I should shoot for to be able to get into a DO program. I really like Rocky Vista because I am from Colorado. But of course, I will apply to others.

What do you all think?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Postpone the MCAT, buckle down and do much better than 23. It will make your life easier.

Postpone the MCAT, buckle down and do much better than 23. It will make your life easier.

I missed the postpone date already. It was yesterday. I don't want to postpone it because I'm already burnt out SOOOO BURNT that postponing it will make it worse and longer. At least if I do poorly I can retake it before the cycle starts.

Members don't see this ad :)
Aim for 25+ and you'll be fine.