HELP: INDIVIDUAL LORS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

turtles43

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi-

I graduated from PSU in May 2015, and have taken a gap year and will be applying in June. During my undergrad career I attended 2 PSU branch campuses, and never actually went to the main campus. The committee letter comes from the main PSU campus, but since I never actually went to school there and have been out of school for a year, I decided to use individual letters. I obtained multiple very strong letters from professors I've known for 4+ years, and research supervisors from my post grad full-time research position.

Do you think this will put me at a disadvantage?

I honestly did not want to put a committee that I don't even know in charge of portraying me as an applicant. I thought including FULL letters from individuals I know will be writing me a superb letter would be more beneficial than little blurbs in the committee letter. I don't have anything to hide. I have 509 MCAT and 3.96 GPA.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm using individual letters this cycle instead of committee. I missed the committee deadlines after my mom fell ill and I was caretaking for her. I was told by my advisor, a med school Prof, and an adcom that it's not a big deal as long as one, if questioned, can properly address why they didn't go through a committee.

Reactions: 1 user
I'm using individual letters this cycle instead of committee. I missed the committee deadlines after my mom fell ill and I was caretaking for her. I was told by my advisor, a med school Prof, and an adcom that it's not a big deal as long as one, if questioned, can properly address why they didn't go through a committee.

Thank you! That's reassuring! I've read on here that it can be a death sentence to not use the committee. I don't know why we would have the option to use individual letters if it wasn't acceptable.