Help me Decide on what to do

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SPORTPT

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi to all.

In July I graduated from Queen Margaret University with the degree of BSc [Hons] in Physiotherapy. I am interested in getting a licensure as a physical therapist in New York State. However, from their main website it seems that you need to have a Master degree in order to get a New York License.

New Physical Therapy Regulations to Take Effect August 17
At its meeting on June 19, 2012, the Board of Regents approved amendments to the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education relating to physical therapy. The new regulations, which take effect August 17, 2012, establish standards for the registration of licensure-qualifying programs in physical therapy and, to implement chapter 410 of the Laws of 2011, raise the entry-level degree for licensure as a physical therapist to a master’s degree level. The amendments also establish standards for the endorsement of physical therapist licenses issued by other jurisdictions. The Regents action, including the amendments to the regulations, may be found at. The new regulations were approved on emergency basis. It is anticipated that they will be submitted for final approval by the Board of Regents in September, following completion of the public comment period. (August 6, 2012)

I am really intrested in working in USA. The options I have are either to do a Master program or a DPT program for practicing PTs. In september I will have my license in UK. After searching I found the only DPT program that is offered for right now for practicing physical therapists licensed in other countries is the NYU.