Help me!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sdelucia

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I am a sophomore chemistry major on the pre-med track. I am currently taking organic chemistry I. For the first time in my academic life I am extremely struggling. I made a F on the first exam and a D on the second exam. It is not that I am not trying, I am spending weeks studying and have a tutor. I am unsure if I should finish the class out and retake it or if I should drop the class and receive a W to retake it. I am not interested in not going to Medical School, I don't think that this class defines what kind of doctor I will be. I just want to maximize my chances. Prior to this semester I hold a 3.8 (3.6 semester 1 and 4.0 semester 2). Please let me know what you think.

Members don't see this ad.

I would withdraw. Not sure how your grading works, but the odds of making a A or B are probably slim at this point. Withdraws aren't the worst thing in the world, and better than failing. Especially as long as you don't have a bunch of them.

Now academically, you will want to figure out how you can improve and do well in the class. Especially as a chem major. What made Organic Chemistry different for me was I had to read the textbook (and atleast do the questions in them) before class, and then class would just elucidate the understanding. If I showed up to class without reading, it was completely pointless. This is most important for moving forward.

Reactions: 1 users