Help! Rescinded DO offer!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheGreatRat

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I got accepted into a D.O. school this year and just got notified that my offer is being rescinded because I "didn't graduate from a regionally accredited institution". I graduated from a Canadian university (University of Toronto). Obviously, I'm unbelievably pissed off and the school doesn't seem to care about my explanation (really, what can I say when its not a U.S. school and all they care about is that it is one?). Its not like they had my transcript on file for almost a year or anything.

They're telling me to finish my graduate degree (I need one more semester, so I can't in time). There was no condition before on my acceptance. I'm trying to get some kind of deferred acceptance, but I really don't want to go to a school willing to pull that kind of stunt.

All of that aside. I just want to know how this would impact my future application. Will schools be willing to hear my side of the story or will it look like a red

Any advice would be great! (this sucks by the way)

Members don't see this ad.

So basically you would still be a grad student once the med school's orientation starts? Assuming a 15 week semester that would end in September and most med schools starting in August

So basically you would still be a grad student once the med school's orientation starts? Assuming a 15 week semester that would end in September and most med schools starting in August
I would graduate in December (I tried to rush it as much as possible, but its not enough to finish in August). I didn't think I would lose my acceptance because of my undergraduate degree being from Canada when there was no mention of it before. But, my main concern is how it would be seen in the eyes of the adcoms this cycle for both MD and DO schools.

Members don't see this ad :)