This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BlueBalloon

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm planning on applying this cycle and need some help finalizing my school list.
  • Asian female, AZ resident
  • Undergrad: U of AZ
  • Degrees: BA Biochemistry, BS Molecular & Cellular Biology (Slightly non-trad applicant, in the sense that I graduated in 3 years. Took a gap year after graduating.)
  • sGPA: 3.36 | cGPA: 3.49
  • MCAT: 502 -> 510
  • Clinical Experience:
    • ~300 hours as an Ortho/Neuro and PACU volunteer. A lot of significant patient interaction. Also helped nurses vital patients and transported patients after surgery recovery.
    • ~400 hours employed as a scribe for a Family Practice physician. This is at a clinic for underserved communities. My doctor did a fellowship in Dermatology, and I observed a lot of interesting minor skin procedures.
    • ~150 hours employed as a constant observer at a hospital. I looked after patients experiencing dementia or suicidal ideation.
    • (I will be continuing my job as a scribe and constant observer throughout the year, so the hour number is projected to be higher.)
  • Non-clinical volunteer hours:
    • ~100 hours as a counselor. I worked at a center that focused on the mental health of families after they lost a loved one. I really enjoyed this experience. It helped me overcome my fear/awkwardness of talking about taboo and uncomfortable topics.
  • Research:
    • ~700 hours as a research assistant at an immunobiology lab.
    • First author of a published paper.
  • Presented my research project at my department's poster fair and won an honorable mention award.
  • Shadowing:
    • 24 hours shadowing a pathologist, general surgeon, and colorectal surgeon.