Helpful Guidance Please

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Getdentordietry

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I just joined SDN and wanted to ask for some advice. I graduated in 2003 with B.S. in biology. Since then I have been working full time for a biotech lab. I applied for the 2005 cycle with BCP 3.0, Sci. 3.08, Cumulative 3.26, DAT AA. 17, Sci. 17, PA. 13 :( . I got 1 interview in May 2005, but no acceptance. Reapplied for 2006 cycle (aadsas mailed out app. Aug 2005) after taking the DAT again, AA. 20, Sci. 21 :) , PA. 17, but was not able to take the DAT until end of Nov. 2005 because of family issues :( I have been shadowing a dentist for some time now and I have volunteering experience as well.

Applied to: Ariz., BU, Case, Creighton, Howard, Marquette, Meharry, NYU, UNLV, USC, Penn, UOP, UCSF, UCLA, NOVA, Tufts, Buffalo.

No Interviews.

Rejections: Ariz, Case, Marquette, UNLV, Penn, NOVA

Wait listed: Creighton

I think this year is a long shot. Any advice besides applying earlier for 2007?
Is it worth the extra time and $$$ to get a masters and any recommendations on master programs? I know of a few 1 year masters programs, but they are geared toward Med students. Will it make a big difference if I take a few graduate level courses, or should I save my money? Will it make a big difference if I do more than shadowing, ie. dental assistant, etc? Will dental schools act unfavorably due to my past apps, or is my persistence to apply again a plus? I am just trying to find that light at the end of the tunnel. I have spent lots of $$$$ and time so far and any help to get over this hurdle is greatly appreciated :) Sorry I wrote so much :oops:

Members don't see this ad.

Getdentordietry said: