poresofkohn

Pulmonary Padawan
10+ Year Member
Jul 13, 2008
The full Vermonty
Status
Non-Student
Hello,
I'm a registered respiratory therapist and I've been reading quite a bit about Pt complaints regarding the "new" HFA albuterol inhalers, specifically that they don't work. Given the usual anxiety component to chronic lung disease I'm not surprised to hear about some people complaining. However, this seems to be quite a movement, there is a group of Pt / consumers trying to start a petition to get the FDA to reinstate the CFC inhalers. It doesn't look like the feds are going to budge. I tend to think this is a case of poorly controlled asthma / rescue inhaler overuse, incorrect user technique, and a more efficient delivery device that Pt's don't "feel" in their mouth / UAW. The only complaint I've heard is "it tastes funny", so I'm wondering if any of you guys on the retail side of things have gotten any complaints. Also, are you able to teach the Pt proper MDI / spacer use? And for the hospital, which inhaler are you dispensing for vented Pt's?
>
Thanks!
>
>
http://www.consumeraffairs.com/health/hfa_inhalers.html
After reading some of these complaints, it's obvious some of these people do not use their inhalers correctly.

MountainPharmD

custodiunt illud simplex
15+ Year Member
Aug 15, 2004
Status
Pharmacist
Every now and then. Mostly they complain about the price. The old generic CFC inhaler was about 14 bucks. The new HFA is $34.00 and up.

I have had a few people say it doesn't spray the albuterol as forcefully as the CFC inhaler therefore it must not work as well.

People need something to complain about.

WVUPharm2007

imagine sisyphus happy
15+ Year Member
Jun 23, 2003
Born: Parkersburg, WV | Now: Montgomery TWP, PA
Status
Pharmacist