Hospital vs Retail

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cassiopious

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I wasn't sure where the best spot to place this was, but I had a question that's kind of related to the job market.

I currently work as an evening tech at a 24-hour CVS. My goal is to pass the CPht and get a job at the hospital that I am just up the street from. My question is this: would it be better to rough it out at CVS and work my way up as an intern so I can keep the job security, or go out on a limb and try to get away as fast as possible? I've been at CVS for a year, and I'm not sure I necessarily have enough experience to secure a hospital tech position, or that my job security would be as substantial there after graduation. However, it is CVS, and I'm not sure I even have it in me to last another 6-7 years as a tech and then an intern until they'd give me an official pharmacist position. I don't want the stress of this job to have negative effects on my schoolwork, but I want to keep a job so that I keep the connections.

Any thoughts? Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

I would definitely go for the hospital job if you can get it...they can always train you so experience is not a major factor there.

Members don't see this ad :)
When are you planning to go to pharmacy school? It sounds like you are planning to be working as a technician for 6 - 7 years, and then start pharmacy school (there is no "working your way up" to be an intern, you have to be admitted to a pharmacy school, and most places require 1 year of pharmacy school under your belt, before you can be an intern.)