1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

How are repeated courses looked at?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by Jason025, Sep 4, 2014.

1. Jason025

Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
    I'm a Canadian undergrad hoping to go to a US DO school. My first two years of undergrad were pretty bad (dealt with some personal issues,etc). I've repeated about 6 courses (that are pre-reqs) and went from Ds/Fs to As/Bs. Have my chances of being accepted decreased because I repeated many courses. Also, I repeated one course twice, so how will the committees look at that? Will they just simply count the highest/recent grade in the cgpa? Thank you for the advice and support! :)

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. IslandStyle808

IslandStyle808 Akuma residency or bust!
    5+ Year Member

DO schools have grade replacement and yes they count the most recent grade (whether it is higher or lower). Plus I have seen tons of people on this forum go from those same bad grades to the same goods one mentioned and have ended up in medial school.

4. Jason025

How do they count courses that were repeated twice. Gchem first attempt- F, second attempt F, third attempt-B+. Please don't tell me how badly I messed up, I already know. But will they actually just count the B+ and disregard the two other Fs? Anyone had this experience?

5. IslandStyle808

IslandStyle808 Akuma residency or bust!
    5+ Year Member