How bad will this grade look on my transcript?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

deezeer55

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Network

Today I got my grade for Organic Chemistry 2 which got me thinking....

When I was a freshman (my first semester) college was extremely overwhelming. I received a D in general chemistry 1 but I did not get any other C's, D's or F's in that semester. The following semester I bundled up and got an A in gen chem 1 and only got one B that semester. In general chemistry 2 I also recieved an A and in orgo 1 lecture I got an A and also in lab I got an A. In orgo 2 I also recieved both As in lecture/lab. I also tutor general chemistry for the school and in that spring that I retook it I fell in love with general chemistry. My current gpa (without that D) is a 3.72. I am going into my junior year right now so still have to take my DAT. I am wondering how admissions committees will look at this and if this will effect my admissions and if they will question me during interviews. I do not have any C/D/F on my transcript except for the D in gen chem 1 my fall freshman year.

Extra Circulars: -Student Athlete Tutor for Gen chem 1/2
-Undergraduate Research through the Chemistry Department
-Academic Resource Tutor for General Chemistry 1/2 and Orgo 1
-Pre-Dental club
-Leadership Committee
-Teaching Assistant for Human Physiology

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

If they ask you about the D, tell them about all the hardship you went through.

Members don't see this ad :)
I think that they will understand considering that it was your freshman year and you display a positive trend in your grades! You also tutored gen chem so I'm sure they will notice that and know that you understand the material!

Hello Network

Today I got my grade for Organic Chemistry 2 which got me thinking....