How can I help you? (advice/chat)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

my existential crisis

Reaction score
Hi! I was recently accepted into two schools for the 2024-2025 academic year. I have some free time at work and would love to offer any advice that I can.

Some background information on me (maybe you'll resonate with it!): I graduated early with my mechanical engineering degree (non-trad applicant) and studied for the MCAT on and off for five months after taking my first MCAT on New Year's Day, 2023 (497). I used Anki to study, primarily did practice questions (correcting them after completing), and read passages weekly. I took four practice exams in the two weeks leading up to my exam (May 26,2023) and ended up scoring a 516 (129/126/129/132) after my highest score of a 512 on the AAMC practice exams (avg. was about a 509).

I was recently accepted to UofSC SOM - Greenville and UofSC SOM - Columbia. As of right now, I plan on going to Greenville with my girlfriend (who also got accepted to Greenville, and yes we applied together this cycle knowing we might not get into the same school).

I have no solid idea what I want to specialize in. I like to read doctor's memoirs and tend to gravitate toward the specialty I just read about (just finished reading "When the Air Hits Your Brain" and "Everything All at Once," and now I want to do something with neurosurgery/oncology. But who knows. It was psychiatry a year ago after I read "The Body Keeps the Score" and then transitioned to Critical Care after I read "The Real Doctor Will See You Now."

Let me know in any way how I can help you if you need! Whether that's questions about my MCAT journey, pre-med journey, interview experiences, etc., I want to give back to others since I am so fortunate.

Members don't see this ad.

• Love
Reactions: 1 users
It might be early, but are you volunteering for "Ask Me Anything"?