How can I increase my chances of getting into medical school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

frigiderm

Reaction score
My main goal is to get into medical school--I’m not too picky about which one, but I do want to try being a physician-scientist, ideally researching the medical applications of psychedelics. I would really appreciate any advice about how I should spend my time to improve my application. Here are the main things I’m wondering about:

• What to do this summer
  • What kind of job to look for during my gap year
  • What kind of clinical and non-clinical volunteering to do

Background:

I'm an undergraduate in my third year of college who recently decided to pursue medical school. Some personal events and reflection led me to decide to dedicate my time and effort to helping other people, and becoming a doctor is part of that. I’m planning to take a gap year before applying, which means I have 2.5 years before I apply to medical school.

Undergrad: Top 10 school

Ethnicity: White

Major: mathematics, minor: neuroscience

cGPA: 3.70, sGPA: 3.88 (my cGPA is lower because I got a bunch of low grades in computer
science courses)

Research: ~500 hours at a computational neuroscience lab, summer research fellowship grant but no publications/presentations

Non-clinical volunteering: Will be volunteering at a food pantry 4 hrs/week and mentoring a family of Congolese refugees, but none yet

Clinical volunteering and shadowing: None yet, and I don’t think this is currently possible due to COVID

Other: Secretary and head of psychedelic science at my school's chapter of Students for Sensible Drug Policy, co-founder of Psychonautics Society (only had two meetings before covid hit), will be tutoring peers calculus 4 hrs/week, one previous software engineering internship at a local media company