How do deal with the uncertainties of my SO and Is medical journey timelines?

socalblues

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a senior in undergrad with an SO who is applying to medical school this year. I am very fearful of the uncertainty of where we'll end up/when our timeliness would allow is to be close to each other. Is or has anybody been in the same situation? I'm applying to post-bacs next year, so I am hoping to end up close to where he'll be for med school. If not, I'll apply to med schools closer to where he'll be for residency, since that's 3-4 years from now. I'm just worried because who knows when and where we'll be. I may or may not even get in right after my 2-year post-bac.

Does anybody have advice? This has been an incredibly difficult and anxiety-inducing year for me. I can't stop thinking of what may go wrong in a potentially long-distance relationship of 6 years or more (if my post-bac, med school, or his residency don't end up being close to each other). It seems that there is no certain end goal. The end goal is being close to each other and maybe get married, but I don't know how to work for that aside from just hoping the best with our admits and locations. He tries his best to secure me, but it still doesn't sit well with me. I don't blame him because I understand there are still lots of uncertainties on his end as well.

Members don't see this ad.