How do you interact with others in the profession?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TrackCPD

Reaction score
I work in a hospital setting and have several colleagues I speak to. But I don’t network outside of that realm much at all.

Other than this site, how else do you interact with others in our field? Do you attend conferences regularly? Other websites, forums, listservs? Do you regularly read journals or other publications?

My experience with psychology websites is they are inundated with people who have mental health issues rather than fellow psychologists. Conferences seem to be geared more toward students and those in academia. Am I missing a source of engagement somewhere?

Members don't see this ad.

The few conferences I attend seem to have a good number of psychologists present, so that's one way I meet folks and keep in touch with those I already know. State listservs and meetings and professional (interest-specific) listservs are another way, and these will sometimes have posts from folks who set up their own regular (e.g., monthly) meetings for things like early-career discussion, private practice interests, case conference, or journal clubs. And then, sometimes, just cold-calling other psychologists in the community to see if they want to get lunch sometime.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Listservs and local conferences usually. I used to have monthly board meetings when I was on the board of a psych org. I chat with VA colleagues from the hospital on Teams.

Reactions: 1 user
1) Listservs- it’s like a low effort version of being taught by the superstars in our field. Especially if you use niche listservs and filter by name.

2) Friends. I’m legitimately friends with my peers AND supervisors from fellowship. With supervisors, it was a bit strange to transition from student to friend.