How do you know if you should do a PGY-2?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

someonesomething

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I'm currently in my PGY-1 and I love it. I love my program, my preceptors, clinical pharmacy. I know I would like to be a clinical pharmacist, and I know what specialty I'd want to do. It's a saturated market, but it's what I love.

The only problem is that I'm not good at that specialty, or clinical pharmacy in general. I have a hard time finding areas that need intervention, a hard time speaking up on rounds (I'm very introverted and shy, which isn't a good match for clinical pharmacy, from what I'm finding), a hard time being proactive and finding opportunities in pharmacy and residency in general. I don't think clinically enough, for lack of better term, and I know you're not supposed to compare yourself to your co-residents, but I do fall flat compared to the others at my site.

So, do I just go for the PGY-2 anyway? Or should I understand my limitations and go into something where my own talents would be more useful?

How did you decide to go for a PGY-2?

Members don't see this ad.

Think about your long-term goals...and how confident you are in working hard to achieve them. How badly do you want that particular end-goal? PGY-2 programs are not easy at all--it will make you question why you did it in the first place, numerous times throughout the year. But...if you want it badly enough, and are highly self-motivated (probably the #1 factor), you will work hard, be successful, and you will reap the fruits of your labor.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I feel the same way. If you think you have it in you for a PGY-2, that's great man. Please share how you still have motivation. 3 months into PGY-1: I hate my life and I'm thinking about quitting every single day. I literally keep asking myself why I thought this would be a good idea.