How do you like your school???????

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sng33

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was wondering how each of you who are currently attending medical school like your respective school? Is it different than you thought? better or worse? What is the social life like? Is it easier or more difficult? Do you like the traditional or problem based learning? If all goes well a number of us on this board will have to make some decisions in the next couple of months, and thought that maybe some of you could help us out.

Members don't see this ad.

Just wnat to keep this thread going

hi there
i am currently entering my 4th yr of medical school. i am studying at manchester university in the uk. Our course follows problem based learning completely from the 1st yr. we have very few lectures, about 3 a wk. at first i found it very difficult to cope with as there was little guidance or teaching. it is entirely up to the student to research all of the information. withina semester i gradually learned to like the course and appreciated having to learn off your own back. now that i am in clinical i am used to learning by myself as oppose to relying on lectures. you do need a lot of motivation, it prevents cramming in of lecture notes before exams. the downfall are that there are times when you would appreciate some guidance such as how much depth you need to know for a particular topic, so a think a combination of pbl and lecture would provide optimum results. i do hope this info asproved to be of some use.
good luck and take care
shaheena :) :cool: [email protected]

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm at the Sackler American program at University of Tel Aviv, and I love it.

Yes, I'm one of those nuts that actually enjoys memorizing lists of facts (when they pertain to the health of my patients... :)