How does this list of schools look?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ollivander

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
March 2016 EDIT

My current overall GPA is now a 3.42 and my science GPA is a 3.22. I have yet to take the DAT and plan on taking it sometime in June. I am an Alabama state resident. I wanted to get some feedback on the list as it currently stands. Any criticism, opinions, or advice is greatly appreciated! Are there any schools I should cut from this list? I also currently have over 1,000+ hours of volunteering in addition to 121 hours of shadowing. Thanks and I appreciate anyone who responds!

Also a note I should add is that I am planning on taking one more undergrad science course in the summer which is biochemistry. I also will be enrolled in a SMP during the upcoming academic year (Fall 2016 - Spring 2017). I have a large number of withdrawals (11) over a six year span. Most are in science courses, however I dropped very early on (within the first week or two most of the time) and followed up the withdrawals with A's. I am not a science major. I am a finance major, but will graduate with 170-180 total credits with 50-60 of those credits in the sciences. Again I know this isn't common, but I'm also doing a SMP in bio-medical sciences to compensate for not majoring in it as well as seeking to strengthen my academic resume. I also hope to show committees that I can handle the rigor of a curriculum of science courses similar to those I would take in the first year of dental school and do well in them.

Here is my list. I plan on applying to 20+ to strengthen my chances.

1. UAB (Birmingham, AL)
2. Louisville (Louisville, KY)
3. Kentucky (Lexington, KY)
4. Iowa (Iowa City, IA)
5. Creighton (Omaha, NE)
6. Oklahoma (Oklahoma City, OK)
7. Tennessee (Memphis, TN)
8. VCU (Richmond, VA)
9. Michigan (Ann Arbor, MI)
10. West Virginia (Morgantown, WV)
11. Pittsburgh (Pittsburgh, PA)