How far in advance did you study?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mdr8

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
To people who have taken the PCAT, done well and are satisfied with their scores... How far in advance did you study for the PCAT? About how many hours/day did you study? And what did you end up with for a score (if you don't mind sharing)?

Edit: What materials did you guys study with?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I studied for 3 months (the entire summer) for 14 hours a day for 6 days. I took it four times so I had to get serious about it so I took the entire summer off from summer courses and volunteering and focused on the PCAT beast. It was pretty bad though, there were times when I didn't even leave my home for 6 days. I left for work on the 7th day. I made a jump from 49->86. My first three scores were very crappy, it's similar to 49 and lower.

I don't think you need to go to the extreme like I did, but just keep pace with it. Best of luck to you.

I studied about 2 months in advanced. About 6 hours a day everyday and got an 80. Good luck

Members don't see this ad :)
I didn't really have a specific block of time set aside to study for the PCAT everyday because of work and school. I ended up studying in between classes and whenever I can, so I would say I studied maybe 2 - 3 hours everyday for 2 months. The last 2 weeks before the exam, I tried to do as many practice exams as I could, which I found to be the most helpful. I took it for the first time in October and got an 87. It really depends on your study habits.

Good luck!

3 weeks, 5 hours a day around 6pm to 11pm (evenings after work), for 6 days a week (giving Friday off for relaxing, Sunday evenings off for NFL, and Monday night football too).

Got a 95% on first try.

I started studying a month before. About 3-4 hours on the weekdays, 1-2 on the weekends. I got a 94.