how good is your pre-med advisor?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jennb

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm just wondering how good your pre-med advisor is. If you think he or she's good, why do you think that way? What has he/she done to help your pre-med life less miserable and the application process easier?

I'm very disappointed with my school's pre-med advisor. I've met with him once and will probably never ask for his advice again. As soon as I sat down with him, he asked me what I wanted to do. I told him I needed help with scheduling the required classes, when to take the MCATs, etc. He automatically assumed that I'm majoring in Biology and wrote out the next 3 years plan on what classes to take to satisfy all the requirements for the Bio major, while also satisfying the med school prereqs. That's all great, but I never told him that I was a Bio major (which I'm not).

I was just disappointed that he assumed I was a Bio major as soon as I mentioned my plans to go to med school. To make the long story short, I just sat there pretended to listen, while thinking that he shouldn't assume that all pre-meds are the same.

He's made a bad first impression!

What should I do now? :confused: I can't not have a pre-med advisor since I need guidance through this process (unfortunately, he's the only one at our school).

Members don't see this ad.

At most Canadian schools we don't have premedical advisors at all - I feel your pain!!!:(