how important is DO experience?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

persianrug

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi everyone,

lately i've been considering applying to DO schools. i applied for md this past cycle and i'm on waitlists there, however i learned that DO's are very similar to MD's in terms of career experiences and goals. so i thought i would try DO school as well this time round.

anyway, getting to my main question: since up until now i've mainly focused on teh md aspect of my application, all my shadowing has been of md's. how important do you guys think it is that i shadow a do and get a letter from a do? (i intend on applying for the current cycle, and i would like to send in my application as early as possible). i already have a letter from an md. do you think it will hamper my chances if i have zero experience specifically in the do setting?

Members don't see this ad.

persianrug said:
hi everyone,

lately i've been considering applying to DO schools. i applied for md this past cycle and i'm on waitlists there, however i learned that DO's are very similar to MD's in terms of career experiences and goals. so i thought i would try DO school as well this time round.

anyway, getting to my main question: since up until now i've mainly focused on teh md aspect of my application, all my shadowing has been of md's. how important do you guys think it is that i shadow a do and get a letter from a do? (i intend on applying for the current cycle, and i would like to send in my application as early as possible). i already have a letter from an md. do you think it will hamper my chances if i have zero experience specifically in the do setting?