How important is research?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DDS.230

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, like the title says, just how important is research before applying?

I am a non-traditional student and about 1 year away from finishing my pre-reqs. My sGPA is around 3.7, cGPA around 3.2, haven't taken the MCATS yet, currently a volunteer at a hospital through a program called Clinical Care Extender, getting a good amount of direct-patient contact. Working my way trying to get a DO to shadow for a LOR.

I just can't seem to get any research opportunities, since I am a non-traditional student, it is definitely harder to find a professor who will give me the opportunity over any undergraduate student at the college.

Just how important is research? I know its not "necessary" but if I kept going at the pace I am with volunteering and shadowing, would my applications be strong enough? I have some other non-science related ECs, worked at a Fortune Global 500 company for 2 years, been on a hip-hop collegiate dance team for 3 years, fraternity for 2 years (i know its not much but thought i would add it as an EC).

Trying to find other EC's along with my hospital volunteering while I finish up my pre-reqs...

Thanks in advance for your replies!~

Members don't see this ad.

I am a non-traditional student and about 1 year away from finishing my pre-reqs. My sGPA is around 3.7, cGPA around 3.2, haven't taken the MCATS yet, currently a volunteer at a hospital through a program called Clinical Care Extender, getting a good amount of direct-patient contact. Working my way trying to get a DO to shadow for a LOR.

I just can't seem to get any research opportunities, since I am a non-traditional student, it is definitely harder to find a professor who will give me the opportunity over any undergraduate student at the college.