How many EMS people considering EM?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nick661806

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was just sort of curious. I'm currently an EMT-I and I love all the action and most of the patients. I'm pretty sure I want to go into EM and I was wondering how many other people have gone into EM because of their experiences in EMS.

Members don't see this ad.

Not me - I don't like the lack of continuation of care. Back when I was working, I was continually wondering what happened to them, whether my "suspicions" about the underlying causes about their symptoms were correct (particularly in those with abdominal pain. . . tricky stuff, that), and that sort of thing. I guess you get some sort of closure with the acute patients in the actual ED setting, but when it comes to that I don't really like the whole "treat 'em and street 'em" attitude you have to adopt to keep your budget afloat. I suppose a distant and minor deterrent would also be the salary. . .

I'm considering it, for sure, but I also have a few other interests. I'm keeping my mind open, but when people ask what I want to go into (which probably happens five times a week :rolleyes: ), I tell them surgery or emergency medicine.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm considering it pretty heavily. I'm also an EMT-I. I'm keeping an open mind - I might absolutely fall in love with another specialty during rotations. However, I still feel pretty strongly about EM. There are quite a few EM docs out there who were EMT's or medics in their previous life.