How many of you are pharm techs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mdr8

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
As I am finishing my supplemental applications, I have been noticing a lot of them ask if I am a certified pharm tech and if so, when I obtained my license. I never became a certified pharm tech or worked in any pharmacies. Although I have a pretty solid gpa (3.6) and pcat score (88 percentile), I am wondering how much this will affect my chances of acceptance. How many of you are pharm techs and do you think this will affect me much?

Members don't see this ad.

As I am finishing my supplemental applications, I have been noticing a lot of them ask if I am a certified pharm tech and if so, when I obtained my license. I never became a certified pharm tech or worked in any pharmacies. Although I have a pretty solid gpa (3.6) and pcat score (88 percentile), I am wondering how much this will affect my chances of acceptance. How many of you are pharm techs and do you think this will affect me much?

It should not affect you very much with your #'s although I'd be concerned at your overall EC package. How is it?

Even if it aces you out of one school you're not applying to just one school. You'll be fine, IMO.

I am a C.PhT and basically no one cares/d.

My EC's are OK.... I was originally pre-med when I was in college so I have volunteer experience in the radiology department of a hospital and I have worked as a phlebotomist in a lab. Other than that I played intramural soccer, have been refing soccer for 10 years and worked in an isotope lab on campus.

Members don't see this ad :)
My EC's are OK.... I was originally pre-med when I was in college so I have volunteer experience in the radiology department of a hospital and I have worked as a phlebotomist in a lab. Other than that I played intramural soccer, have been refing soccer for 10 years and worked in an isotope lab on campus.