How old can AMCAS activities be for a nontrad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hebrewBAMmer

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is there a general rule for this? I went to undergrad from 2007-2011. Since then, I worked a job for a year, have some volunteering, have been working on my PhD program, and have done some extracurriculars for fun. Obviously, those are things I would include in the AMCAS activities section. However, there's 15 spaces available, so being able to include things I did in undergrad would be beneficial. However, is that frowned upon since I graduated 6 years ago, or is it perfectly fine to pick some of the things I did in undergrad and include them? If so, is there a certain percentage of things one should have between undergrad listings and post-undergrad listings?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm just a premed like you, so I could be completely wrong, but I think it's always an issue of quality over quantity. If you were regularly involved in some activity that highlights a positive trait of yours or helps answer "why medicine?" then I would include it. On the other hand, if you showed up to Habitat for Humanity one random afternoon 7 years ago, I don't think the adcoms will particularly care and it will look like you're desperate to fill space.

Reactions: 1 users