Medical How should I answer Adversity/Challenge & Diversity secondary questions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Goro

Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Student Doctor Network experts, I was wondering if I could get some advice on some adversity/challenge & diversity topics for medical school. So far I have come up with a few topics for each of these questions (if I have inappropriately posted here feel free to remove the post, sorry this is my first time asking a question).

Adversity/Challenge
1. I was home schooled after some pretty terrible bullying. My previous friends would facetiously call me a high school dropout. My family often called me idiotic and expected me to fail through college. It was pretty easy to fall into the headspace that they crafted but I disregarded this and studied a lot/asked for a lot of help and ended up doing pretty well in college.
2. Worked in between two laboratories (lab1 and lab2) during college. Lab1 found out I had been working at Lab2 and threatened to drop me unless I left Lab2. I deliberated on this for awhile and asked Lab1 why they would do this (in lieu of rushing to quit Lab2 because I worked for Lab1 for a year already) and understood where they were coming from. Decided my interests were more aligned with Lab1 and told Lab2 I would not be able to stay with them (they were led by a tenured professor while Lab1 was not, Lab2 tried pulling rank and pressured me into telling them who Lab1 was, implying they would involve the university. I decided to abstain from telling them and instead took responsibility for the decision steering the conversation away from the involvement of Lab1 to have a more amicable departure), today I still have fairly friendly relationships with the lab members of lab2.

Diversity