Optometry How should I go about pursuing Optometry?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBoneDoctah

Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a high school freshman in CA and I hope to become an optometrist some day! I signed up for honors chemistry next year, and I'm thinking of taking a pathway, Principles of Biotechnology 1 and Principles of Biotechnology 2 for 11th and 12th grade, instead of my original plan of taking AP Biology. And also AP physics, AP Statistics, AP Calculus BC. Would this be a good idea? There's also a health academy pathway, an environmental science pathway, and other classes like physics, marine biology, physiology, computer science, astronomy, etc. for the science portion. There are a few STEM clubs as well, so I'm hoping to join those to get some hands-on experience when we go back in-person.

For college, what majors would be good for optometry school? I'm thinking biology, microbiology, biochemistry? I'm also considering taking a minor in medicine. I didn't think to much about it yet, it was just something I'm considering. After college, I want to take a few gap years before grad school. And I really want to attend Berkeley's School of Optometry.

I know these are mostly statements, but I still have quite a bit of time before college so I want to start planning early to make sure to make the right decisions/plans, and choose the right classes. So I guess I'm asking for advice? Does this plan seem reasonable? If not could I get some recommendations? And if you're a studying something relating to science, math, or working in the medical industry, I'd also like to ask what university you attended, your major and/or minor, and/or what you're doing/what you're planning to do after college, if you're okay with sharing!