MD How to approach NBME Anatomy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rtmsf95

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm a rookie MS1 and medical school is starting this week. The first course is General Anatomy, and I go to a school that exclusively utilizes NBME exams. The thing is though, that the professors select the NMBE questions, so there's probably some focus on what is taught in lecture. I wanted to get opinions on potential study plans, and perhaps even recommendations for new study plans.

Best Content Review Resources?
Classmates from upper classes hand down scribes, and apparently those are helpful for beginning MS1s such as myself who haven't developed the skill to filter material productively. I'll also utilize Lecture slides, obviously.

Aside from this, any recommendations? ECA seems to be way too wordy and may take too long to read (but does offer clinical correlates), and I'm the type of reader that goes kinda (too) slowly and thoroughly. Other options I've seen are BRS and High Yield...any recommendations on that?

Best Tool to Memorize/Test?
For me, I think it takes too long to write down extensive notes and then to go over those notes, but I've seen resources that speed up this process: anki and firecracker.
In my past premed courses, anki really does help me memorize content super fast, but the drawback is the time it takes to create these cards specific to my curriculum. I've taken up a free trial with FC so I'll see how that goes, but the caveat is that I don't have the exact cards/pieces of information that I'd like to memorize. So which source would be better to memorize the content learned from scribes/lectures?
Perhaps there are other methods which have better efficiency and results than either of these options, such as creating study guides quickly and repeatedly reviewing? Keep in mind all exams are STEP 1 Style, however.
--------