maria1oh

7+ Year Member
Jul 23, 2009
Status
I filled out the online web applications for cvs, walmart, kroger, kmart, target, etc. about 1 month ago and still have not heard from them. I was wondering how long you waited to receive a phone call? I tried calling kmart to ask about my application and the pharmacist told me that Human Resources (HR) hires people and to talk to them. I talked to HR and she said they are so backed up with hiring that it won't be for another couple months. I also called Walmart to check about my application and the person said they do not forward calls to the HR department because so many people have called and asked. She told me to just wait for them to call me. Also I called a Target and she said they have not hired any one new in the pharmacy in over 1 year.

I do not have good pharmacy references or work experience but I am an accepted pharmD student starting this fall. I was also wondering if it would be a lot easier to apply as an intern and receive a phone call back than it is for a tech. It would be nice to be hired over the summer to work as a tech, because I will not receive my intern license until school starts and because the school is on the quarter system we do not start until the end of September.

Any stories or advice would be appreciated! Thanks.

StaviZFingerZ

Retired
Removed
10+ Year Member
Apr 12, 2009
Status
Pharmacist
and why not hospital pharmacy? do you have a tech license?

Allure

10+ Year Member
Feb 17, 2008
Status
It is definitely easier to get hired as an intern than as a tech or so it seems to me, but I though in Ohio, as soon as you're accepted, you can apply for as an intern? If you go to OSU, they have a list of places that would hire students. My friends never had any trouble getting jobs. Also, try Meijer's, Giant Eagle and Kroger if you haven't already.

Old Timer

10+ Year Member
May 16, 2007
Status
Pharmacist