How to improve my MCAT score :'(

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mandi_1234

Reaction score
Hi everybody

I'm sure you guys see plenty of posts like this, but I figured it wouldn't hurt to ask this question here. Essentially, I got a 508 (128/126/128/126) on my MCAT (this was my first time taking it).

As a summary of how I studied (I went through all the Kaplans):

In regards to cp and bb, I didn't do as well as I hoped. Since I basically finished all of the Uworld problem sets, I was expecting to do slightly better than a 128. I think I could have reviewed the questions I got wrong more, but I felt like I had to rush to finish all the questions that were available to me.

In regards to cars, I just suck I don't know how to improve. I was doing well on the Uworld passages, but somehow during the questions that I saw through the AAMC package question set, I was struggling so much with the length of the passages and deciphering what the questions were asking. I felt the same way during the actual exam.

In regards to psych, I think I could have done better if I hadn't slacked off on my Anki, but I also did not enjoy studying this way because it was a struggle to get through all the decks. I also think that the questions were a lot more difficult on the actual exam than compared to Uworld.

I also couldn't finish any of the practice exams simply because I was so anxious...I don't feel the same anxiety anymore, but I do feel lost on how to approach the exam again.

I plan on taking it next year around January or March, so I think I have enough time to figure it out, but I also am starting a new job so I want to start figuring things out now.

Are there any tips or tricks on how you guys studied for the exam? My goal is not a 520+, but I do want to get around a 515 the next time I take it. Thank you everybody!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: 1 user